PanchPrayag- Confluence of Five Ganges (Uttarakhand)

Prayag is a symbol of confluence of two rivers. In Garhwal region, there are five Prayags which have religious significance since ancient times. Five Ganges are- Bhagirathi, Alaknanda, Mandakini, Dhaval Ganga and Pindar Ganga. The separate confluence of these rivers has been given the name of Panchprayag. These are- Devprayag, Rudraprayag, Karnprayag, Nandprayag and Vishnuprayag.

In accordance with Puranas, the Ganga descended from heaven was converted into three streams. The one coming out of Shiva's matted hairs and flowing behind Bhagirath was called Bhagirathi. Second stream coming out of Shrimukh Parvat was called Alaknanda and the third stream which flowed to Kedar region was termed Mandakini.

Devprayag : Here after confluence of Alaknanda and Bhagirathi, the stream is named Ganga from here onwards. The templs of Lord Raghunathji and Lord Shiva located here are worth visiting.

Ruraprayag : The confluence of Alaknanda river, coming from Badrinath and Mandakini river exists here. The templs of Rudranath and Chamunda Devi are noteworthy. It is 70 km from Devprayag.

Karnaprayag : The confluence of Ganga, originating from Pindar glacier and Alaknanda river exists here. The temples of Uma and Karna are worth a visit. It is about 31 km from Rudraprayag.

Nandprayag : Here is the confluence of Alaknanda and Himnad.

Vishnuprayag : Here is the confluence of Alaknanda and Devdarshini Ganga or Dhauliganga rivers. An ancient temple of Lord Vishnu and Lord Shiva stands here by a pool called Vishnu Kund. It is situated at a distance of 68 km from Nandprayag.

Contact Our Tour Planner

India Tour Package HelpInterested !

Plan Your Trip Now.

Select Date

Select Date

Please enter the letters displayed


India Special Tour Packages

Golden Triangle Tiger Safari Tour

Golden Triangle Ganges India Tour

Glimpses Of India with Goa Tour