Assam (North-East India State)

Before Independence, the whole of the north-eastern territory except West Bengal was known as Assam province. Later on, it was divided into five states and two union Territories. They are Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Manipur, Meghalaya, Nagaland, Tripura and Mizoram. Among these, Assam is the biggest in population and the largest tea- producing state in the country. About 60% of India's tea is produced here. It also produces a large proportion of India's oil.

The main attraction for the visitor here are the Manas and Kaziranga Wildlife Sanctuaries which are home of the one-horned rhinoceros. In olden days, Assam was known as Pragjyotish in various literature and historical scriptures. The river Brahmaputra which flows through Assam, can be likened to the Nile in Egypt. It is the source of life to two-crore Assamese. The capital city is Dispur. The main language spoken here is Assamese. Twenty percent of the area comprises of forests. It is bordered on the west by West Bengal, north by Arunachal Pradesh, east by Nagaland, Manipur and Myan Mar and south by Meghalaya, bangle Desh, Tripura and Mizoram. About 75 percent of population here is dependent on agriculture for income. The main food crop of Assam is rice.

Contact Our Tour Planner

India Tour Package HelpInterested !

Plan Your Trip Now.

Select Date

Select Date

Please enter the letters displayed